Qualitative Health Research Conference 2012 – A First Hand Perspective

Written By: Rachel Flynn, Research Assistant, University of Alberta

I just wanted to share my overall experience of the QHR conference 2012, and for me one word sums it up… EPIC!

From this conference I have come away having learned alot about many aspects of qualitative research and that I have a lot to learn and I am very excited about that.

It has let me question my way of learning and how I approach qualitative research with the ‘ready made receipe’, it has inspired me to think of different ways to carry out  research and engage with participants and readers, not to be afraid to ‘push the envelope’.

For me this conference demonstrated innovative ways of thinking, the effectiveness technology and social media can have in qualitative health research, the importance of connecting with the qualitative research community and despite the struggles with things such as the publishing ‘checklist’ to stay true to the meaning of your research. As a newbie to this qualitative research world this conference has given me some critical thoughts on what way I want to continue my path in qualitative research and what I value and strive for to provide quality qualitative research. Thank you to all that provided me with such thoughts. Would love to hear other peoples thoughts on the conference?

My only negative to the conference was…mmm the food was too good! I may have been a bit too keen on the desserts:)

Once again thanks to the fantastic organizers for providing such a worthy conference.
Safe trips home to all those travelling and Montreal thank you for being so welcoming.

About IIQM

The International Institute for Qualitative Methodology (IIQM) is an interdisciplinary institute based at the University of Alberta, in Edmonton, Alberta, Canada, but serves qualitative researchers around the world. IIQM was founded in 1998, with the primary goal of facilitating the development of qualitative research methods across a wide variety of academic disciplines. Today IIQM offers a wide variety of training and networking opportunities through our annual conferences, courses, workshops, and programs. We have provided this YouTube Channel and video clips as a resource for the qualitative research community at large in order to advance qualitative inquiry. Email: iiqm@ualberta.ca Twitter: @theIIQM https://twitter.com/theIIQM Facebook: @IIQMUofA https://www.facebook.com/IIQMUofA/?fref=ts LinkedIn: International Institute of Qualitative Methodology https://www.linkedin.com/groups/6617394/profile Youtube: International Institute of Qualitative Methodology (IIQM) https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCexSuWcPpxhZdLO2T7FC7Vw
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

